Italian Viking

AP Art History

Review  
ASSIGNMENTS (SPRING SEMESTER) 
Artistic Period Due Date
High Renaissance February 6 (Monday)
Baroque February 21 (Tuesday)
Neoclassical February 27 **
Romanticism February 27 **
Impressionism March 6 (Monday)
(End of third quarter)
Expressionism March 20 (Monday)
Modernism Part A March 27 (Monday)
Modernism Part B April 10 (Monday)
Post Modernism Part A April 17 (Monday)
Post Modernism Part B  April 24 (Monday)
Template & Instructions HERE  
Sample of student work  HERE  
(You will NOT be using those artworks.)  

modes of analysis 

Iconographic.
Interprets objects and figures in the artwork as signs or symbols, often based on religious or historical contexts that would have been understood at the time.

Biographical
Considers whether the artist's personal experiences and opinions may have affected the making or meaning of the artwork in some way.

Feminist
Considers the role of women in an artwork as its subjects, creators, patrons, and viewers.  It explores the ways in which the artwork reflects the experience of women.

Contextual
Looks at the making and viewing of the work in its context (historical, religious, political, economic, social and so on).  It studies the context that the artwork itself represents.

Psychological
Investigates an artwork through the interpretation of the mental state of the artist.

Formal
Analyzes the artwork's use of the elements and principles of art.

ELEMENTS OF ART 

Line
Form
Shape
Volume
Mass
Color
Texture
Space
Time & Motion
Value (lightness & darkness)
principles OF ART 

Contrast
Balance
Unity
Variety
Rhythm
Emphasis
Pattern
Scale
Proportion
Focal Point
WHY YOU SHOULD NOT PANIC 
Panic isn't healthy.

70% correct is a "5"
Panic isn't healthy.

70% correct is a "5"
50% correct is a "4"

Panic isn't healthy.

Sample Test(s) had ONE "date" question.
That's right. ONE.
If you're memorizing dates, you're wasting your time.

Panic isn't healthy.

Sample Test(s) did not ask for a "Dynasty"
That's right. They did not.
If you're memorizing dynasties, you're wasting your time.

Panic isn't healthy.

Panic isn't healthy.

Did I mention that panic isn't healthy?

Sample Music Videos 
SONG
MOOD  

COLLEGE BOARD APAH HANDBOOK 
Click Here! 
   

   
DROPBOX RESOURCES 
(Download Here)
Password Hint for link:  Mrs. M's favorite place.
(2 words, use hyphen, all lower-case)

SLIDESHOWs (general art concepts)  
Introduction  
Line, Shape & Contrast  
Three-dimensional Art  
Depth, Value & Space  
Color  
Time & Motion  
Unity, Variety & Balance  
Scale & Proportion  
Emphasis & Focal Point  
Pattern & Rhythm  
Content & Analysis  
   


 
FIRST SEMESTER ASSIGNMENT SCHEDULE: 
   
***** LATE WORK POLICY HERE  
   
ASSIGNMENT DUE DATE
Egyptian Art August 29 (Monday)
Greek Art (Part 1) September 6 (Tuesday)
Greek Art (Part 2) September 19 (Monday)
Roman Etruscan Art September 26 (Monday)
Early Christian/Byzantine October 10 (Monday)
Romanesque Art October 17 (Monday)
Late Gothic (Part 1) October 31 (Monday)
Late Gothic (Part 2) November 7 (Monday)
Early Renaissance (Part 1) November 28 (Monday)
Early Renaissance (Part 2 December 5 (Monday)